skip to main content
Main Image.

Entries for the revised New Zealand Institute of Building (NZIOB) Awards, now known as the New Zealand Building Industry Awards, close on Friday, 11 May 2018.

To mark the 25th anniversary of their awards programme, the NZIOB has introduced two new categories: a Consultants Award and an Interdisciplinary Collaboration Award, and renamed the event the ‘New Zealand Building Industry Awards’.

NZIOB chief executive Malcolm Fleming said, “The new name and categories clearly identify that the awards programme is open to all the occupations involved in the New Zealand building industry, and to broaden the awards appeal beyond primarily recognising project managers running commercial construction projects. What hasn’t changed is the awards focus on acknowledging and celebrating building industry practitioners behind New Zealand’s most successful building projects.

“Established in 1994, these awards are now open to anyone in the building industry and are judged by a panel of experts from the industry.”

The revised awards have eleven categories: six are defined by the scale and cost of the project and can be entered by individuals or teams working on construction projects. The six cost-based category awards are the:

  • Resene projects under $2.5 Million Award;
  • Steel Construction NZ projects $2.5 - $5 Million Award;
  • Hilti NZ projects $5 - $10 Million Award;
  • Colorsteel® projects $10 - $25 Million Award;
  • Allied Concrete projects $25 – $50 Million Award; and the
  • AECOM projects over $50 Million Award.

Please note that the cost bands are indicative only and the actual cost-bands will be at the discretion of the Judges who are tasked with achieving an even spread of entries across the six cost-band categories.

The other five categories are the:

  • James Hardie Innovation Award, recognising innovation in the industry demonstrated within a project, or through an innovative new product or procedure;
  • Site Safe Safety Excellence Award, recognising excellence in either ‘Safety in Design’, or by way of safety initiative on a construction site;
  • 2018 Metro Performance Glass Consultants Award. New for 2018, this award recognises high performance of design consultants (architects, engineers, quantity surveyors or project managers) who have contributed to the design, documentation and delivery stages of a successful project;
  • Hays Construction Interdisciplinary Collaboration Award, another new award for 2018, recognising exceptional examples of collaborative partnerships between consultant(s) and contractor; and
  • BCITO Young Achiever Award, identifying and recognising younger building industry practitioners who possess high level capability and can point to a career to date that is marked with significant achievement. Nominees for this award must be under the age of 30 as at 11 May 2018.

The winners of the six cost-based categories and the Innovation Award, Safety Excellence Award, Consultants Award and the Interdisciplinary Collaboration Award are eligible for a Supreme Award, the GIB® sponsored Supreme Award. This is the New Zealand Building Industry Awards highest honour, recognising outstanding performance.

For more information about the New Zealand Building Industry Awards and to enter online, visit:

The Award recipients will be announced at a Gala Dinner at the Cordis Hotel, formerly the Langham, in Auckland on Friday 24 August 2018.

Malcolm Fleming said, “Past Award winners have included many of the building industry’s high achievers, which reflects the Award’s stature, as does the fact that a number of past Young Achiever winners now hold very senior roles within the sector. The 2018 winners will likewise follow this trajectory.”


About the New Zealand Institute of Building

The New Zealand Institute of Building (NZIOB) is the professional institute in New Zealand for building and construction professionals, those who are involved in the Design, Documentation, and Delivery of construction projects. The NZIOB is acknowledged for their ability to bring individuals together, whom share a common interest; in improving the standing of the building profession, and a commitment to the practice of excellence in their career.

NZIOB members are skilled managers and professionals engaged in building practice in a managerial, technical, or administrative capacity in construction, installation, designs or survey, and for those engaged in the teaching, science and practice of building and building research.

The NZIOB is an advocate for the construction industry and works with construction industry stakeholders, government, tertiary faculties and media to promote the building profession.


About the New Zealand Building Industry Awards

Established in 1994, the NZIOB awards are sponsored by GIB® and are the only Building Industry Awards that celebrate and recognise an individuals’ professional excellence in the building and construction process of a recently completed project, as opposed to recognising and awarding the project or completed structure.

The awards are open to any individual or team in the Built Environment whose personal attributes have contributed to the success of a project and who demonstrate individual or team excellence in:

  • Management methods and technique;
  • Degree of project complexities;
  • Any innovations developed during construction process;
  • Relationship with the client, architect, authorities, community and work force (employees, suppliers, subcontractors, etc.);
  • Delivery of quality outcome of the completed project; and
  • Project completion on time and within budget.

Simon Barnes is the Convener of Judging. Simon is a Quantity Surveyor with 40 years’ experience across a wide range of commercial, residential, industrial and retail developments.

Judging is done in two stages over a two-month period by a judging panel made up of experienced people from a cross section of the New Zealand construction industry.




Entries open for the New Zealand Building Industry Awards

+ Text Size -